Welcome to the website of Xiamen Haichuanda Industry and Trade Co., Ltd.! !

Products
News
Location:Home > News

Nano calcium carbonate commonly used surface modifiers

There are two defects in the direct use of nanometer calcium carbonate in organic polymer matrix:

First, intermolecular forces, electrostatic interactions, hydrogen bonds, oxygen bridges, etc. will cause the agglomeration of calcium carbonate powder;

The second is that the surface of nano calcium carbonate has a strong hydrophilic and strong basic hydroxyl group, which will make its affinity with the polymer worse, and easily form agglomerates, resulting in uneven dispersion in the polymer, resulting in two The interface defects between these materials cannot reflect the nanometer effect of nanometer calcium carbonate.

With the continuous expansion of the application fields of nano calcium carbonate, these shortcomings become more obvious. In order to give full play to the advantages of nano calcium carbonate and improve the properties of nano calcium carbonate, different surface modification methods and modifiers must be used for surface modification treatment.

The commonly used modifiers of nanometer calcium carbonate mainly include coupling agents, surfactants, polymers, inorganics, etc.


1. Titanate coupling agent

Titanate coupling agent can be divided into monoalkoxy type, coordination type and chelating type. In order to improve the uniformity of the reaction, it needs to be dissolved and diluted with an inert solvent, and then added to the surface modifier in the form of spray. Better to disperse and mix with calcium carbonate particles and chemically coat the surface.

Titanate has a good modification effect and has been widely used, but the brown color of titanate affects the whiteness of the modified product, is more expensive, and may endanger human health (causing liver cancer).


2. Aluminate coupling agent

The alkoxy group at one end of aluminate can react with free protons on the surface of calcium carbonate, and the other end can produce entanglement or cross-linking with polymer molecular chain, and its performance is better than titanate.

The alumina modified calcium carbonate can be better dispersed in the organic medium, the mechanical properties are improved, and the physical and mechanical properties and processing properties of the product can be improved. It is widely used in filled plastics and other products.

The advantages of aluminate are: lighter color, non-toxic, high thermal decomposition temperature, low price, convenient packaging and transportation, so it has a wide range of applications. The disadvantage of aluminate is that it is easy to hydrolyze and cannot be used in wet surface modification process.


3. Borate coupling agent

The borate coupling agent used as a modifier has many advantages: non-toxic and antibacterial, excellent coupling function, good thermal stability, and good hydrolysis resistance. Therefore, borate as a nano-calcium carbonate modifier can be used not only for dry surface modification process, but also for wet modification treatment.


4. Fatty acid (salt)

The mechanism of action of fatty acid (salt) is to use calcium carbonate with a large number of hydrophilic hydroxyl groups distributed on the surface, presenting a strong alkaline characteristic. Its RCOO- reacts with Ca2+, CaHCO3+, CaOH+ and other components in the calcium carbonate slurry to form fatty acid calcium The precipitate is coated on the surface of calcium carbonate particles. The hydrocarbon group in the calcium fatty acid makes the surface properties of calcium carbonate change from hydrophilic to lipophilic.

After the nanometer calcium carbonate is modified by fatty acid, the dispersibility is improved, and it has better compatibility with organic polymer materials. Calcium carbonate modified with fatty acid (salt) is mainly used to fill PVC plastics, cable materials, adhesives, inks, coatings, etc. Among them, stearic acid (salt) is the most commonly used and very cheap surface modifier for calcium carbonate.


5. Phosphate (salt) and condensed phosphoric acid

Phosphate (salt) modifiers are also anionic surfactants. They mainly corrode the surface of calcium carbonate by phosphate to generate calcium phosphate and calcium hydrogen phosphate, which are tightly coated on the surface of nano-calcium carbonate particles with long-chain alkyl groups. Align outwards, making nano calcium carbonate hydrophobic

The application of phosphate modified nano-calcium carbonate in composite materials can not only improve the processing performance and mechanical properties of the material, but also improve acid resistance and flame retardancy.

Using condensed phosphoric acid (metaphosphoric acid or pyrophosphoric acid) to modify the surface of calcium carbonate powder can overcome the disadvantages of poor acid resistance and high surface pH of calcium carbonate powder. The pH of the modified product is 5.0~8.0 (the pH before modification is 9.0~10.5), it is hardly soluble in weak acids such as acetic acid, and has good acid resistance.

In addition, zinc sulfate and water glass are added in the calcium carbonate carbonization process for surface modification. When the resulting product is applied to styrene butadiene rubber, its elongation at break and tear strength can be improved.


6. Quaternary ammonium salts

Quaternary ammonium salt is a cationic surfactant. One end of its molecule can be cross-linked with polymer materials, and the other end is positively charged to cause electrostatic adsorption on the surface of calcium carbonate.


7. Reactive monomers, active macromolecules

The small molecule carboxylic acid with unsaturated bond in the reactive monomer can interact with nano calcium carbonate to disperse nano calcium carbonate; using its reactivity (unsaturated bond) can be grafted with polyolefin to form grafts and strengthen The interface between nano calcium carbonate and polymer.

The macromolecules in the active macromolecules can act on the surface of calcium carbonate to improve the affinity and dispersibility between it and the organic polymer materials.


8. Polymer

The polymer can be adsorbed on the surface of calcium carbonate directionally, so that calcium carbonate has charge characteristics and forms a physical or chemical adsorption layer on the surface of calcium carbonate particles, increasing the distance between particles, preventing adhesion and agglomeration between calcium carbonate particles, and improving dispersibility. Commonly used polymers mainly include oligomers, high polymers and water-soluble polymers.


9. Hyperdispersant

Hyperdispersants are different from traditional surfactants and are mainly composed of a solvent section and an anchor section. The anchoring section is generally a polar group, which can be tightly bonded to the particle surface in the form of single-point anchoring or multi-point anchoring; the solvent section has different polarities and is suitable for the modification of polymers with different polarities.

Theoretically speaking, by adjusting the relative molecular mass and functional groups of the two phases, a surface treatment agent that meets almost all requirements can be obtained.


10. Inorganic

Inorganic modifiers generally cannot change calcium carbonate from hydrophilic to hydrophobic, but can improve the dispersibility and acid resistance of nano-calcium carbonate. If used in combination with other modifiers, the effect is better. Commonly used are metaphosphoric acid (salt), polyphosphoric acid (salt), aluminate (salt), alum, barium salt, etc.

Inorganic electrolyte is adsorbed on the surface of calcium carbonate particles, on the one hand, it can increase the surface potential value and induce steric hindrance, resulting in electrostatic repulsion of the electric double layer, thus improving the dispersion of particles; on the other hand, due to steric hindrance This prevents hydrogen ions from contacting the inner calcium carbonate particles, significantly improving its acid resistance.


Contact Us


Xiamen Haichuanda Industry and Trade Co., Ltd.
Add:Building 18, No. 21, Beitou Road, Jimei District, Xiamen, Fujian
Contact Person:Lin Bijuan
Tel:86-592-6214196
Mobile:86-13950041699
Fax:86-592-6217406
E-mail:linbijuan@xmhcd.com,linbijuan@hotmail.com
Website:www.xmhcd.com

欢迎访问厦门海川达工贸有限公司的网站!!

电话:86-592-6214196 

加入收藏  |  联系我们
工程案例
新闻资讯
当前位置:首页 > 新闻资讯

纳米碳酸钙常用10大类表面改性剂

纳米碳酸钙直接用于有机高分子基质中存在两个缺陷:


一是分子间力、静电作用、氢键、氧桥等会引起碳酸钙粉体的团聚;

二是纳米碳酸钙表面具有亲水性较强且呈强碱性的羟基,会使其与聚合物的亲和性变差,易形成团聚体,造成在高聚物中分散不均匀,导致两种材料间界面缺陷,无法体现出纳米碳酸钙的纳米效应。

随着纳米碳酸钙的应用领域不断扩大,这些缺点更加明显。为了充分发挥纳米碳酸钙的优势,改善纳米碳酸钙的性能,必须采用不同的表面改性方法和改性剂进行表面改性处理。

纳米碳酸钙常用的改性剂主要有偶联剂、表面活性剂、聚合物、无机物等。


1、钛酸酯偶联剂

钛酸酯偶联剂可以分为单烷氧型、配位型及螯合型,为了提高其反应的均匀性,需采用惰性溶剂进行溶解和稀释,再以喷雾形式加入表面改性机,可以更好地与碳酸钙颗粒进行分散混合、表面化学包覆。

钛酸酯改性效果较好,曾得到广泛应用,但钛酸酯呈棕色影响到改性后产品的白度,且价格较贵,并可能危害人体健康(导致肝癌)。


2、铝酸酯偶联剂

铝酸酯一端的烷氧基可与碳酸钙表面的自由质子反应,另一端能和高聚物分子链产生缠绕或交联作用,其性能优于钛酸酯。

铝酸酯改性后的碳酸钙能较好分散于有机介质中,力学性能得到改善,并且能提高产品的物理机械性能和加工性能,在填充塑料等制品中应用广泛。

铝酸酯的优点是:颜色较浅,无毒,热分解的温度较高,价格低廉,包装、运输方便,因此适用范围广泛。铝酸酯的缺点是易水解,不能用于湿法表面改性工艺。


3、硼酸酯偶联剂

硼酸酯偶联剂作为改性剂使用,具有很多优点:无毒并且抑菌,偶联功能优异,热稳定性能好,具有良好的抗水解能力。因此,硼酸酯作为纳米碳酸钙改性剂,不仅用于干法表面改性工艺,也可用于湿法改性处理。


4、脂肪酸(盐)

脂肪酸(盐)的作用机理是利用碳酸钙表面分布着大量亲水性的羟基,呈现较强碱性的特点,其RCOO-与碳酸钙浆液中的Ca2+、CaHCO3+、CaOH+等组分反应生成脂肪酸钙沉淀物,包覆在碳酸钙粒子表面,脂肪酸钙中的烃基使碳酸钙的表面性质由亲水变成亲油。

纳米碳酸钙经脂肪酸改性后,分散性提高,与有机高分子材料具有较好相容性。用脂肪酸(盐)改性的碳酸钙主要应用于填充PVC塑料、电缆材料、胶黏剂、油墨、涂料等。其中,硬脂酸(盐)是碳酸钙最常用、也是十分廉价的表面改性剂。


5、磷酸酯(盐)和缩合磷酸

磷酸酯(盐)改性剂也属于阴离子型表面活性剂,主要是通过磷酸酯腐蚀碳酸钙表面生成磷酸酯钙和磷酸酯氢钙,其紧密包覆在纳米碳酸钙颗粒表面,长链烷基朝外排列,使得纳米碳酸钙呈疏水性

经磷酸酯改性的纳米碳酸钙应用于复合材料中,不仅能提高材料的加工性能和机械性能,而且能改善耐酸性和阻燃性。

采用缩合磷酸(偏磷酸或焦磷酸)对碳酸钙粉体进行表面改性,可克服碳酸钙粉体耐酸性差、表面pH高等缺点。改性后产品的pH为5.0~8.0(改性前pH为9.0~10.5),难溶于醋酸等弱酸中,耐酸性较好。

另外,在碳酸钙碳化过程中加入硫酸锌和水玻璃进行表面改性,所得产品应用于丁苯橡胶时,可改善其断裂伸长率和撕裂强度。


6、季胺盐类

季胺盐类是一种阳离子表面活性剂,其分子的一端可以和高分子材料发生交联,另一端带正电可以在碳酸钙表面发生静电吸附。


7、反应性单体、活性大分子

反应性单体中带有不饱和键的小分子羧酸能与纳米碳酸钙作用,分散纳米碳酸钙;利用其反应性(不饱和键)可与聚烯烃发生接枝,形成接枝物,强化纳米碳酸钙与聚合物间的界面作用。

活性大分子中带有的大分子能在碳酸钙表面发生作用,改善其与有机高分子材料间的亲和力和分散性。


8、聚合物

聚合物可在碳酸钙表面定向吸附,使碳酸钙具有电荷特性并在碳酸钙粒子表面形成物理或化学吸附层,增大粒子之间的距离,防止碳酸钙粒子间粘连团聚,进而改善分散性。常用的聚合物主要有低聚物、高聚物和水溶性高分子。


9、超分散剂

超分散剂不同于传统的表面活性剂,主要由溶剂段和锚固段组成。其锚固段一般为极性基团,可以单点锚固或多点锚固的形式紧密结合于颗粒表面;溶剂段极性各异,分别适用于不同极性的聚合物改性。

理论上讲,通过调整两段物质相对分子质量大小和官能团,可以获得几乎满足所有要求的表面处理剂。


10、无机物

无机物改性剂一般不能使碳酸钙由亲水变成疏水,但能改善纳米碳酸钙的分散性与耐酸性,若与其他改性剂结合使用,效果较佳。常用的主要有偏磷酸(盐)、多聚磷酸(盐)、铝酸(盐)、明矾、钡盐等。

无机电解质吸附在碳酸钙粒子表面,一方面能提高其表面的电位值并诱发空间位阻效应,产生双电层静电排斥作用,因而能改善粒子的分散性;另一方面,由于空间位阻作用使得氢离子无法接触到内层碳酸钙粒子,显著提高其耐酸性。


联系方式


厦门海川达工贸有限公司
地址:福建省厦门市集美区碑头路21号第18号楼
联系人:林碧娟
联系电话:86-592-6214196
手机:86-13950041699
传真:86-592-6217406
E-mail:linbijuan@xmhcd.com,linbijuan@hotmail.com
网址:www.xmhcd.com